74 Main St S, Bethlehem, CT 06751

paintedponyrestaurant@gmail.com

Reviews

Leah French

· January 6, 2017

The food is always good here, and they have an awesome list of seasonal cocktails and martini’s that keeps changing. The peach cobbler martini is my favorite. Each week a different house made cheesecake is featured. This week it was funfetti black cherry cheesecake………AMAZING!!

We were so nicely treated by our server, Amanda, who, among others, cleaned up after a four year old, delivered our food in record time, and brought my husband’s birthday cake cut and with candles included.We couldn’t have enjoyed the food more if it hadn’t been for the excellent service Thank you!

Good food. A lot to choice from. Good service and the nite we went had a good band there. Will be going again.

Excellent meal and service. Found our new home for prime rib.

“Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015NEW

The food is really good. I love the mozzarella sticks. My friend lives nearby and we go regularly for lunch. The staff is very friendly and their seasonal mixed drinks are awesome.

Visited February 2015

“Pre Valentine’s day”
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 14, 2015

We came last year for the first time and loved it so we decided to come back. Since we both have to work on Valentine’s day we decided to go the night before. It was delicious! We both had the steak and scallops. Our appetizer was the pork bomb. All were so good! We would be back every night if we could

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015NEW

I have drove by this place many times. On Friday 2/20/2015 me and my wife stopped in for lunch. The first impression was the place was very clean and the host was very friendly. We were seated right away. Within a few minutes our waitress came over to see if we wanted our drinks. She brought them to us very quick (soda nothing fancy). We ordered our food just burgers but they were very good. My wife could only eat half of here because they were so large. I think for the portion sizes and cost it was a great value. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2015

“Mouth Watering”

My husband and I went with another couple and had one of the best meals we’ve had in a long time. The waitress was friendly and knowledgable and the service was great. Two of us had prime rib and two had Steak Gorgonzola….all cooked to perfection and very tasty. All meals came with soup AND salad which were excellent. We will definitely go back again. The menu has so many various choices that it was hard to choose just one!

Wendyg88, via TripAdvisor

“Great Meals…Great Prices”

My wife and I have been eating here for years; lunch, dinner and Thanksgiving, we have never been disappointed. The Veal Posiden for lunch or dinner is mouth watering. You can’t beat the Thanksgining buffet spread; this is our fifth year and we have never been disappointed with the quantity and quality of the buffet and the price.

capt_allanb, via TripAdvisor

“My trip”

Have been here for many dinners with my daughter and family on holidays or just for togetherness! Great food, Great Service, Everyone knows everyone!

Kathlene K., via TripAdvisor

“Prime Rib!”

We have driven passed here many times but never stopped. So decided tonight to try it out, worth stopping by if you haven’t already! Chicken wings and garlic bread with cheese started the meal, both good. Then we had the prime rib, very good, comes with salad AND soup! My son had the kids spaghetti, large serving. My other son like the wings so much he had an order for his dinner.

deeter123, via TripAdvisor

“Stopped for Soup and Stayed for a Meal”

The Painted Pony in Bethlehem, CT is a great place to stop in for a meal
We were traveling on a cold and rainy day and decided to stop in at the Painted Pony for a soup.
Well – that quickly turned into a meal and a dessert
The staff was friendly – our waitress was perfect – and the food and portions were excellent

KJ13Newtown, via TripAdvisor

“Great Dinner”

My husband and I stopped in with my 4 y.o. for dinner last Saturday. I had the prime rib which was excellent. He had the new york strip which was good. Both meals came with soup AND salad which I thought was a great deal. Server was great and atmosphere was nice. Will definitely go back again.

Remybelle, Torrington, CT

“Excellent Raw Bar and Prime Rib”

Was looking for a prime rib place in the area and found this place on line. It wasn’t disappointing! We first had oysters from the raw bar the they were delicious. We followed up with out main meal. I had the prime rib which was just right. It is unusual for you the get soup and a salad but they do it that was which was much appreciated. We will be back.

BigZ123, Southbury, Connecticut

“Great service and good food”

My husband and I have eaten here many times but this is the first time I have written a review.
The service is great. We were seated quickly and our waitress was great. She offered suggestions and gave honest answers on some of the questions on the food choices.
I had the lite fare pork chops with mashed potatoes which was good. My husband always has the chicken parm which is very good. Salads are always fresh as is the salad dressing.
The prices are reasonable and the portions are large enough.
I would recommend the Painted Pony for anyone that wants great service, good food, reasonable prices and comfortable family setting.

chazleen, via TripAdvisor

“Busy and friendly place”

Little town of Bethlehem with a great place for your family and friends to go enjoy. Love the heated patio. Our server was friendly and made us feel at home. The steak and scallops are the best. Hot apple cider was perfect on the patio. Came with 10 of my friends and all of us loved it. Thank you painted pony. keep up the good work

cindy1996, Morris, Connecticut

“Prime Rib”

Great Food And Friendly Staff!! New Owners Brought A New Atmosphere To The Whole Resturant!!! From What I Hear,The New Owners Have Worked There For 8 Years!!! So Nothing Much Has Changed!!

Pamela V., via TripAdvisor

“At home feeling”

Lunch (or dinner) at the Painted Pony is a pleasure. The setting in picturesque Bethlehem, CT is a real plus. And the food is good too. Friendly waitstaff really makes diners feel at home…and reasonable prices add to the enjoyment. Live music on Thursday evenings and also on Sunday afternoons starting at 4 p.m.is a definite attraction as well.

HVwriter, Falls Village, Connecticut

Little town of Bethlehem with a great place for your family and friends to go enjoy. Love the heated patio. The steak and scallops are the best. Hot apple cider was perfect on the patio. Came with 10 of my friends and all of us loved it. Thank you painted pony. keep up the good work

Anthony G., Lake Huntington, NY

Had the Steak & Scallops (the scallops were wrapped in bacon) dinner tonight — EXCELLENT !

Our server Robert was pleasant and friendly. The turtle cheesecake was OUTSTANDING, best cheesecake we’ve ever had (light, not heavy).

Worth the trip, highly recommend this place !

Tom D., Fayetteville, TN

I have always had attentive service and great food there! The wings are a don’t miss and for special occasions the 40 oz prime rib! The seasonal martinis are always a hit!

Liz R., Bethlehem, CT

New owners awesome food good like always highly recommend it to any of your friends or family

Mario R., Woodbury, CT

My friend and I were told to go to this place after horseback riding in Woodbury. Good food, great prices, prompt service. We both had burgers, and they were great! Wonderful little place in the middle of nowhere.

Marissa M., Milwaukee, WI

this is an excellent Restaurant, and the best drinks too !!

Sue Peterson

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Great atmosphere and the most wonderful staff I have ever dealt with.

Heather Reed , via Facebook

We had a good meal here. Gluten Free pasta was a pleasant surprise. Friendly staff. I would return if we were in the area again

Bill D., Orange, CT

On a whim, my friends and I took a drive to the Bethlehem Flea market yesterday and worked up an appetite shopping for furniture and vintage kitsch. The shop owner recommended The Painted Pony, noting “it’s the only thing around here open after 5 on a Sunday.” Good enough.

We strolled in and placed some drink orders (Spanish wine flight for $5?!) while perusing the menu, then ordered a heaping plate of fried calamari. I’ve never seen a CT restaurant serve it this way (usually only Rhode Island) but it came tossed with crumbled gorgonzola, pepperocinis and a balsamic glaze. Love! I also ordered an eggplant parmesan grinder which was delicious on a grilled roll with sauteed peppers and perfectly fried eggplant…

Emily C., Hartford, CT

Went here last night for a long over due date night and am exceptionally pleased with our choice. Quick service, fantastic food and great atmosphere. The new owners are doing a fantastic job!

Brianna Herbest , via Facebook

Good food, great staff and the restaurant is always comfortable!

Gail Carpentier Rizzo, via Facebook

Worth the Trip

The food is really good. I love the mozzarella sticks. My friend lives nearby and we go regularly for lunch. The staff is very friendly and their seasonal mixed drinks are awesome.

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015
sob343

,

New Milford, Connecticut

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 11, 2015

This was our first time here and right away the hostess told not only our server but also the owner who stopped by our table to see how things were going. The food is thoughtfully prepared…great calamari with peppers balsamic drizzle and gorgonzola. My roasted pepper burger was cooked PERFECTLY…which is so hard to find these days a good medium rare….my husband had the light fare chix alexander and said it was amazing. Our server, Kelly was suberb at her job. We were too full for dessert, which was a bummer because their selections are plentiful and looked GREAT, so the owner gave us a cannoli to take home! Everyone at this place is extremely thoughtful, helpful and GENUINE. We cant wait to go back….

Visited April 2015

Um, wow. Please eat here.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed April 22, 2015NEW

As usual, the husband was weary of this place – he thought it was going to be the typical bar food and he pretty much just agreed to go to get me to stop asking to try it. Now he’s already asked me if we can go there for MY birthday dinner and I’ve earned the chance to gloat about my fantastic food choices. We just went last night and we’ve already debated if it would be weird for us to go back again today. We don’t want to look like crazy people, but I need more of this food.

We ordered the Grand Slam app sampler because it’s just not in my moral code to turn down any sort of sampler platter. Everything was fantastic. The loaded potatoes were definitely not what I was expecting but now I feel I’ll never be able to have them any other way! Jalapeno mac & cheese bites were so good, perfectly crispy and cheesy. The Grand Slam also came with wings, jalapeno poppers and fried pickles – all were delicious. I’m really excited to try the wings in more flavors other than just plain.

My husband and I each ordered a burger – his was cajun, mine was just plain with cheese. They come on ciabatta rolls, which he thought was very fancy but he was still weary of them actually tasting good. This burger was probably the best I’ve ever had and I’ve eaten many a burger in my day. Many. This was perfectly cooked (medium), size was generous and the veggies on top were incredibly fresh. I’ve commented before on other restaurants and how I’m severely picky about pickles – these pickles were phenomenal. The burgers each came with a side of something that I think was chipotle mayo.. whatever it was, its delicious. Fries were also really good- nice sized portion with the burgers and not greasy at all.

We were stuffed but couldn’t leave without taking at least a peek at the dessert menu. We decided on the chocolate mud cake. Oh my word. It was AMAZING. It was actually love in it’s physical form. It almost tasted like raw cake batter. Seriously amazing and I am not a dessert person whatsoever.

I’m torn between telling people to eat here because it’s fantastic and telling people to not come here because I want to keep it to myself. But I’ll be a big girl and will tell you go to there because it’s seriously one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. I cannot wait to go back!

Visited April 2015

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 4, 2015NEW

I rediscovered The Painted Pony in September and it was such a wonderful experience my family & friends have dined there every Sunday since and a few days in between!

Owner, Jeannie is very accommodating; staff (especially Helen and Tanya) are always delightfully pleasant and attentive; Owner/Chef Mario prepares wonderful meals and often alters the dishes to honor our special requests.

Special favorites are the Chicken Alexander; The Sizzler; Shrimp Primo and baked Stuffed Shrimp! And another special treat is the homemade cheesecake